Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Today the Alzheimer's Association has come out with a new definition of Alzheimer's. The definition is a little more detailed and you can obtain the PDF papers for free by going here.

Unfortunately for those of us that are involved in some way with this disease, this is nothing new to us. Instead of 7 stages now there are only 4. They do elaborate more on exactly what is going on during each stage.What I found astounding is that a person contracts Alzheimer's every 69 seconds!

Unfortunately, there is still no way to correctly diagnose Alzheimer's until after death. But, with the new research, there is hope that maybe in the not too distant future, that will no longer be the case.

While this research is to late to benefit my grandmother, I do hope that it will benefit those that are just starting to deal with this disease.

I have listed more links below that are more informative. I have also included an older link that lists the 7 stages of Alzheimer's to give you a starting place.





1 Comment:

  1. Expat From Hell said...
    I saw this story on television this morning, as well. I am glad they are making progress, although it always seems so slow. You are doing a service to your family and your readers - thanks for the courage and the strength you show in your writings. Always nice to be here... EFH

Post a Comment

Template by:
Free Blog Templates